Coal Mines Historic Site

The World Heritage Coal Mines Historic Convict Site 
is just a few minutes down the road from Salembay Beach House.

This was Tasmania's First operational mine! With many ruins to explore it still retains much of the early infrastructure necessary to house Convicts and solidiers.
From 1833 it was developed to limit the colony's dependence upon imported coal and as a place of punishment for the "worst class" of convicts from Port Arthur. 
The Coal Mines formed part of the system of convict discipline and punishment on the Tasman Peninsula. During its busiest years almost 600 prisoners with their jailers and their families lived and worked at the Mines. While the extensive underground workings (some over ninety meters deep) are no longer accessible, you may freely wander about the picturesque ruins of houses, barracks, offices and punishment cells. 
                       Don't miss out on this World Heritage Listed Historic Site
 Entry is Free !!!!!!!

Click on each image below for a bigger picture


Download a visitors guide and more information below

18 Jun 2011, 17:11